top of page
Writer's pictureKrystal Tubbs

Stay connected to your heart

Well, I don’t know about anyone else but the last couple of weeks have been pretty trying for me and everyone in my family. From school closures, remote working, to layoffs this whole Covid-19 situation has affected everyone I know in some way shape or form.


Some days I can’t turn away from the news and other days I can’t turn off the TV fast enough. Society as we know it is crumbling down around us and if you’re like me you’re patiently waiting to see what will be left of the rubble when it’s over.


I am not trying to sound alarmist or dark here, but I can’t imagine all of this not having some kind of widespread global societal repercussions – and I hope nothing but good comes because of it.


But, today, that’s not what I am here to talk about. Today I’m here to talk about you and your heart. When we are deep in chaos, we often lose focus on what we have right in front of us. All of the good in our lives that we are surrounded by. When we become disconnected from our heart, we focus on so much of the dark coming in to bury us that it’s hard to find the light again.


I’ve been there this week. I’ve been full of anger and disappointment, disbelief and depression. As I watch the world around me change, I can’t help but feel a sense of loss at all of the things I thought would always be there. Being able to work in a coffee shop, meeting friends for a meal, or just checking out a book from the library. I have never lived in a world where these things weren’t possible and it’s so strange to have them so suddenly disappear.


It’s in these moments when I don’t know how to be in this world that is being created around me that I try to remember to connect with my heart. When we can stay connected to our heart everything else will follow. How we will move forward, what our lives will be, and who we will be during and after the crisis that surrounds us.


We have to remember that we aren’t what’s happening around us. We aren’t the chaos, and we aren’t losing anything. These times are calling us to become more connected to our hearts so we will be better able to connect with the people around us. This is not a time for disconnection – which is where fear will lead us – but a time for connection which is where love will lead us.


Practice social distancing, stay safe but don’t become disconnected from the world and the people you love. Most importantly don’t become disconnected from yourself. Take time to take care of yourself and turn off the TV.


We are all in this together as a global community and as long as we don’t forget that then anything is possible.

12 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

ความคิดเห็น


bottom of page