top of page
Writer's pictureKrystal Tubbs

Hiking is like life the 5th day of giving


Yesterday’s hiking gift ended up turning into quite the adventure. I had picked out a 2.5-mile hike for us to go on, but the information I found online was wrong and it turned into a 3.5-mile hike.

It was interesting hiking with a ten-year-old who likes to complain about going uphill until we get to the top and we see the view, then she is in awe of the magnificence of the beauty of nature.


I realized as we were walking that the hike was just like life. If all we do is complain until we get to the top we miss all of the beauty around us as we make our way to the top. How do we want to remember this life? Suffering and all of the times that we didn’t get what we want? Or do we want to bask in the beauty of the journey? Either way, the hike (as life) will end, but how we choose to walk through it will determine how we walk through life.


Today's gift was a little different. I am working with an older gentleman who is trying to sell some really amazing inventions that could change the world. He sent me some information to put on his website and as I was reading through it I realized that it just didn’t make sense. So, I rewrote it not just for the website, but also for him to use in other situations. It wasn’t part of my work, and I could have just used it for the website, but I decided that today, that was my gift; to continue to help him change the world.

Tomorrow I hope to drop off some baked goods at a friend's house for a gift, but we will see if another opportunity arises.

4 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page