top of page
Writer's pictureKrystal Tubbs

Resume (poem)


I've been trying to figure out a way to express this to people. It tends to be hard because we live in a society that focuses so much on money and people think that I don't understand how jobs and companies work or that I don't care about making money. Neither of which is true.

"Human connection is the most vital aspect of our existence, without the sweet touch of another being we are lonely stars in an empty space waiting to shine gloriously." Joe Straynge

Part of what I do for work is help people write resumes and cover letters, and what kills me every time is that every person I help has their value summed up in how much time or money they made or saved the company. That's it. There is no humanity in it. We strip away all of the things that make us human -- the connection we have to each other -- and replace it with the mathematics of business.


Now, I am not saying that making money is bad. I'm also not saying that we shouldn't strive to improve the companies we work for, or that we shouldn't try to improve our own material situation. What I am saying is that our worth has nothing to do with these numbers. These numbers are a reflection of something deeper that we do, which is connect with people. We can't make great sales teams if we don't know how to lead and connect with our people. We can't create a loyal customer base if we can't cultivate a human connection with the people on the other side of the phone.


It kills me, it really does, to think that in our capitalistic society we have to sum up our humanity in revenue and time for the companies we work for. I know there is a better way and I aim to find it.


So, here it is, my poem on resumes, value, connection, and humanity.


Resume


Take a moment and tell me what you’re worth

tell me your value in a few bullets:

  • How much money have you made the company?

  • How have you sped up production?

  • How have you reduced processes that waste time?

  • How have you reached more people?

  • How have you have generated more leads?

  • How has your team beat their sales goals over and over again…

breathe and look that list over again

your value summed up in a few simple questions

your worth in numbers

but what about the time you let Susan cry on your shoulder

after her father died and she got the news at lunch

tell me about the time you connected with the woman on the phone –

you spent an hour with her while she told you

about her kids and her business and how everything was growing

tell me about the time you brought in cake

for Anthony’s birthday because he had just moved to town

and had no one to celebrate with

what about the time you brought in donuts and coffee

because your team had just gotten through working

all week on a critical project?


Look over your resume again

tell me your worth

show me your humanity in a few bullet points

sum it up in numbers and time

show me how you connected to people

how you helped them grow

how you forged bonds in the fire of work

and then try again

and show me who you really are.

8 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page