top of page
Writer's pictureKrystal Tubbs

On Purpose (Poem)

What is the dawn but a promise that we have been given another day to walk in the direction of our joy? That our lives have been blessed once again as we are given another opportunity to see the sun rise over the horizon in the east. I bless the cold wind from the north. I bless the blue sky above me. I bless the earth below me. I bless the hot tea beside me. I bless everyone I pass today. We forget so easily that we are here together, on this beautiful piece of space, spinning wildly through the vast black, blessed by a star. We are impossible. That we are alive on this planet right now is against all odds. Our bodies could have easily been suns or moons or comets racing across the southern sky streaming our joy behind us for all to see. Instead we are here, right now, our hearts beating and our lungs breathing, and I am writing these words – all improbable, impossible that we can translate a few lines on a blank surface and know what it means. I bless each line of each letter because it means I can tell you I love you. I bless you because you are reading this and that is why we are alive, to love and to bless ourselves and each other. We forget this, caught up in all the things that our lives our made up of: our jobs, our houses, our friends, our family, our worries, our troubles. We forget that we are here to breathe and be alive in the ecstasy of existence. Oh, Dear One, take heart for you are here on purpose and every inhale and exhale is another chance to remember why you came.

11 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page