top of page
Writer's pictureKrystal Tubbs

Maybe it’s freedom just to keep breathing.

When we are in the midst of living we can feel trapped, confined by our circumstances. We forget that we are alive. We forget that we are impossible. The chances of us being here on this planet just as we are:

That’s 10 followed by 2,685,000 zeros.


Can you imagine what it took for you to be here right now? The people walking across the street at the right time. The babies born that would affect your family line. The schools that had to be built. The fact that your great great great great great great grandparents even met. There are stars that had to be born and die exactly where they did for our planet to come into being. The sun had to become a star. We had to make it through all of creation. We are here is not an accident. We are breathing is on purpose. I don’t believe that we were put here to experience misery. We were not made to just exist and die.


We are alive to love and be loved. We are alive to share our gifts with the world. We are here for our voices to be heard. We are here on purpose. We are here to be in purpose. We are not meant to all be the same – even as our culture and society tell us that we should be. We aren’t all meant to be. We aren’t all meant to be artists, entrepreneurs, or writers.


There are things that we do that ignites our soul, and that’s what we are supposed to be doing. Maybe it’s gardening, or being a parent, or traveling, or cooking, or scrapbooking. There isn’t a limit. There isn’t a single list you have to choose from. You are here to express who you are and what brings you to life.

We get so caught up in having to be the best. Having to make the most money. Having to get the job. The girl/boy. The car. The house. The life that we were told that we needed to have to be happy. But it’s all made up. It’s all bullshit. Be still a moment and breathe into the space around you. There is freedom there. There is space to be who you are.


It’s taken me a long time to recognize the miracle that my life is. I’ve spent a lifetime bogged down with thoughts of not being good enough. Thoughts of lack. Thoughts that I was broken and beyond repair. I have lived a life filled with hate. I have lived a half-life so consumed by my story that I was a victim. For a long time, I thought that life was something that happened TO me not FOR me.


But that would be against the odds. Because the fact that I am here typing this right now is basically zero. I am a miracle. You are a miracle. We are a miracle. We are living in the dream of a planet that was made just for us. What beauty there is here, what pain, what joy. We were given this life to take it all in, to breathe, to be alive, and learn to understand who and what we are. To give our gifts to the world, and connect back to all that is.


The truth is, life was never happening to me. Life was always happening for me. Just as it is for you.


Be here now. Breathe here now. There is freedom in that.

15 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page