top of page
Writer's pictureKrystal Tubbs

Hungering

Our lives are the opening and closing

of hungry mouths

eating over and over again

this human experience

over and over again consumed

by joy and grief in the endless

cycle of the in and out breath


what is this life if not the endless

expression of love

as we learn to love ourselves

as easily as the grass

grows green in the spring


open your mouth

and swallow everything

we are all so hungry

for the bitter and the sweet --

the soft taste of salt from tears

Eat this life up

Eat it whole

Eat every precious moment

that your breath allows


Oh, Beautiful Sky God

Endless Starlit Heaven,

pour into me the Milkyway

pour into me endless expanse

fill me to overflowing

with starlight and love

show me how to devour

this life --


because I am hungry

and the leaves are turning

from green to gold

show me how to exhale

in the chilly morning air

atop this mountain

as the wind makes rivers

through the shining leaves


I am hungry for the stillness

and the expansion

and the silence that surrounds

all things


6 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page