top of page
Writer's pictureKrystal Tubbs

29 Day Giving Challenge Day 1 & 2

So, here I am a day late with my first blog post about my 29 Gifts Challenge, and what can I say? Life happens, we forget sometimes, it’s better to forgive yourself than continue to beat yourself up over something so small as forgetting to write a blog post.


That just means that today you get two stories!


As I mentioned in my previous blog post, I decided to start this yesterday. I have a close family friend who I always get something for Mother’s Day. I’ve been friends with her son for about 20 years now and they have always welcomed me into their house with love. Along with some banana bread I had ready I decided I would make her a fabric mask since my brother and I were able to pick up some material recently.


I sat down and picked out all the fabric, took my time sewing it, and had made a wonderful mask… then I found some fabric I forgot we had and decided that made a better back color and sat down to make a second one. Yep… I’m THAT person.


I went to drop it off at her house but she wasn’t up (I found out later she was napping) but I sent her a text letting her know it was outside and I wished her a Happy Mother’s Day and went on to make another mask delivery to a friend down the street. I got a text from her later thanking me.


Today, on Mother’s Day, I wanted to do something special for my mom because she is part of the at-risk community and really doesn’t leave the house unless it’s absolutely necessary. Usually, my brother and I take her to this upscale Mother’s Day buffet that a local restaurant in town puts on, but for obvious reasons that wasn’t happening.


Instead, I found a box of cinnamon roll mix that had been forgotten about in the back corner of our freezer and I pulled that out. I made the dough the night before and we baked in the morning them along with the rest of breakfast for just a little something extra.


They were a hit with everyone, and I am pretty sure I saw my mom munching on cinnamon roll pieces all day.


It’s funny how at this time on the planet we have to think outside the box in order to give something of ourselves. We are social distancing, shops are closed, we are staying home and staying in, but that doesn’t mean we can’t keep giving something of ourselves. Just remember that as we keep moving forward into whatever normal is after all of this – we are still creative beings and can use that creativity in any way we want.


That’s about all for today. We shall see what tomorrow brings.

0 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page